• OK, it's on.
  • Please note that many, many Email Addresses used for spam, are not accepted at registration. Select a respectable Free email.
  • Done now. Domine miserere nobis.

Choosing a Major

RubberDucky451

Prolific Member
Local time
Today 7:32 PM
-->
I'm in my final year of high school and I'm being pressured by my parents to choose a school and then a major. The problem is, i really don't know what I'm doing :confused:. I have interests but i don't know much about the working environment of specific jobs or what I'll be doing. I know that a lot of college students change their majors but I still feel indifferent about the whole situation.

Discuss:

How did you choose your major? (Besides what you were interested in)
Is going into a college blind uncommon?
Differences between the education system in the US vs other countries
Recommended aptitude tests?

stcecilia

Redshirt
Local time
Today 1:32 PM
-->
It's totally normal to go into college not knowing what you want to do. I started as a philosophy / archaeology double major and now I'm doing opera and loving it. Whatever you pick, you can switch later so try not to sweat it too much. :)

Decaf

Professional Amateur
Local time
Today 11:32 AM
-->
Most universities don't require that you choose a major until your junior year, but to get through in 4 years, you should know by the time you become a sophomore. That being said clearly there's room to experiment a bit as a freshman.

If I were to do it over again I would choose the three most compelling majors and take a significant course from each my freshman year. A lot of students take their "filler" classes (like writing, language or math) early, but it really doesn't help you decide what you want to do.

What majors intrigue you? There's a wide range of experience on this forum for you to draw on.

GarmGarf

Local time
-->
Differences between the education system in the US vs other countries