• OK, it's on.
  • Please note that many, many Email Addresses used for spam, are not accepted at registration. Select a respectable Free email.
  • Done now. Domine miserere nobis.

Writing in volume

B.C.P.

Local time
Today 3:17 AM
-->
http://www.hughhowey.com/another-way-to-make-a-living-as-an-author/#more-4614

I'm an aspiring writer. There is an aspect of the approach to writing success that Howey mentions above that does not seem right to me.

The best I can define it at this point is that a writer either does his work to entertain people or does it to express himself.

What I mean by "express himself" (or herself) is to make a very precise and accurate representation of how he or she perceives reality.

The difference between these approaches is pretty obvious. The first produces, I think, a James Patterson novel and the second gives us great a great piece of art like Les Miserables.

By focusing on quantity over quality, it seems these people aren't artists at all. They're just salesmen who see demand and seek to exploit it.

I don't think Victor Hugo, or any great writer, would have ever sacrificed the quality of their writing to meet some "books per year" goal. In fact, this seems like the death of the kind of literature that can change a person's entire outlook on life.

What are your thoughts on this topic?

Rook

enter text
Local time
Today 10:17 AM
-->
Modern novels are quite linear and bland. A hero rescues the day through tough trails and hardship etc. There is an inherent lack of philosophical meaning, they are a relentless onslaught of emotions and action. The science fiction genre does not conform to this format per se, and this may be why it interests us intp's. There is also a lack of humorous books (catch 22, Hitchhiker's Guide etc.), wich is dissapointing.

B.C.P.

Local time
-->
There is an inherent lack of philosophical meaning