• OK, it's on.
  • Please note that many, many Email Addresses used for spam, are not accepted at registration. Select a respectable Free email.
  • Done now. Domine miserere nobis.

Should I get a job or work for my dad?

pjoa09

dopaminergic
Local time
Today 3:17 PM
-->
It's the age old question for me.

A decade ago I graduated from High School.

I accepted my "fate" and went straight to my dad's office.

I was certain I would fail university like I had with High School. (get a low GPA)

Then after four and half years of grueling labor, I wanted to know what was university like and I wanted to do Computer Science.

I argued with my dad and he reluctantly headed. He allowed me to go to university. I did poorly as expected but I did graduate.

I got the first job I could find. It paid very poorly but I was afraid of going into some depression limbo state so I didnt try to look any further. By very poorly I mean $650 a month. Which was barely enough to live off of but the average wage where I live. I felt like I had put in much more than what I got.

At the time I had a girlfriend and she made about a grand a month. More than me but not much either.

I realized that if things got serious in this trajectory I'd be poor with a child or something horrible.

So I let her go, I figured she'd connect with someone else better than me. I also quit my job in 4 months. I then went to work for my dad again.

Now I hate working for my dad as well. Its just not "intellectually engaging" and its very laborious like I've mentioned earlier. It's a very ESTJ/ENTJ maybe ESTP sort of job. A lot of calling people, setting up delivery dates, reading bills, creating documents, etc. A tonne of anxiety for me because it's all in a language I never made myself familiar with (maybe an INTP thing). I sometimes kinda enjoy it because it involves lift boxes and sacks as well, but that's about it. I feel like a fish out of water.