• OK, it's on.
  • Please note that many, many Email Addresses used for spam, are not accepted at registration. Select a respectable Free email.
  • Done now. Domine miserere nobis.

Open Source Gaming

mrrhq

Dedicated Debian Dude
Local time
Yesterday 9:41 PM
-->
There's a game for everyone, even FOSS lovers.
Don't listen to the shitty trolling and people that say there's no games for Linux, because they are absolutely wrong. Linux is beginning to be a more viable gaming platform. Too many people focus on graphics, sound and such, rather than the gameplay or the experience of the game.

There's even good games fro the browser, such as MMORPGs and other online games or whatever.

I have been using Linux for a few years, I have been steadily moving away from games, but maybe I should go back to it, still. I know there's Steam for Linux, and there's even ways to make Game Maker games on with Enigma dev studio. There's games in LOVE2D and ones made with Allegro (although old) and Unity 3D. Endless possibilities.

So I want to make this thread to discuss free software and Linux gaming. I know that there may be FSF purists who don't want to talk about proprietary software, but the reality is that proprietary software exists, and is still available as options for people who want to make their one choices to play games on Linux.

You can buy a Humble Indie Bundle or support Steam for Linux or Canonical's game library by purchasing games (only if you want!) Theres also many FOSS games that you can just play or compile and run, hassle free (most of the time).

I hope another thread doesn't already exist.

Oh I should share some of my favorite games:
- Battle of Wesnoth (Best TB RPG game for Linux, pretty much. Has networking and is highly customizable. Professional quality software)
- 0 A.D (A great 3D RTS game. Extremely high potential to be something professional in the future.)