• OK, it's on.
  • Please note that many, many Email Addresses used for spam, are not accepted at registration. Select a respectable Free email.

Noob Question - Signatures

Local time
Yesterday, 20:04
Joined
May 4, 2009
Messages
61
Location
USA
#1
I'm sorry if this information is somewhere. I searched the forum and tried a lot of different things, but my signature picture is not working properly. The preview in the UserCP shows the image and when I post, it seems to leave enough space for the image, but it fails to actually display.

The picture is a jpeg of my results from mypersonality.info
I also tried using the link given by the site and other things as well.

Can someone please give me a step by step on how to make it work?

Thank you. Much appreciated.
 

snowqueen

mysteriously benevolent
Local time
Today, 04:04
Joined
Mar 28, 2009
Messages
1,359
Location
mostly in the vast space inside
#2
I'm sorry if this information is somewhere. I searched the forum and tried a lot of different things, but my signature picture is not working properly. The preview in the UserCP shows the image and when I post, it seems to leave enough space for the image, but it fails to actually display.

The picture is a jpeg of my results from mypersonality.info
I also tried using the link given by the site and other things as well.

Can someone please give me a step by step on how to make it work?

Thank you. Much appreciated.
on mypersonality it gives you option to choose 'code type'. Rather than html choose the Forum/BB. If you switch to Editor mode on the signature box in the Forum (that's the square with the two A's in it top right) you can paste the code straight into your text box and it should work.
 
Local time
Yesterday, 20:04
Joined
May 4, 2009
Messages
61
Location
USA
#4
Thank you much! I will give it a try. If my signature appears, then you know you have helped me. And thanks for the welcome.
 
Local time
Yesterday, 20:04
Joined
May 4, 2009
Messages
61
Location
USA
#7
Testing 3. Still not right.

When I tried to paste it directly into my message, it wouldn't let me post.

Can anyone offer up any other suggestions?

Edit: Ok maybe found the problem. In the "edit signature" page, there is a section at the bottom, "Signature Permissions" and it contains the following:
"Allow Code [B]No"

Now, how do I change that?
[/B]
 

Anthile

Steel marks flesh
Local time
Today, 05:04
Joined
Jan 10, 2009
Messages
4,015
#8
Try
for every single image.
 

Toad

True King of Mushroomland!!!
Local time
Yesterday, 20:04
Joined
Apr 7, 2009
Messages
1,781
#9
Way I did it wAs downloaded the picture onto my computer than uploaded using the "browse" button option.
 
Local time
Yesterday, 20:04
Joined
May 4, 2009
Messages
61
Location
USA
#10
EDIT: It's somehow magically working now. I didn't do anything different than before, but it just decided to work now. Whatever.

Thank you to all who helped.





Try
for every single image.
Tried that - it's my current setting. They just come up as links and don't display the image.

Way I did it wAs downloaded the picture onto my computer than uploaded using the "browse" button option.
Tried that too - was my first idea after the code from the site didn't work and prompted the creation of this thread. It would leave room for the image, but wouldn't display it.


Anyone else? Forum mod??
 

Zero

The Fiend
Local time
Today, 04:04
Joined
Mar 10, 2008
Messages
894
#14
I'm trying to get my signature to work as well. I copying the image on my computer and uploading. That didn't work, so I'm trying the way that was suggested to you. I can't believe what a pain this is. It's extremely irritating. Why is this forum so buggy?
 

Zero

The Fiend
Local time
Today, 04:04
Joined
Mar 10, 2008
Messages
894
#16
Grrr
Is there any way I make this damned signature work or is it random?
Hmmm, I don't think my image was saved as a jpg. It was an PNG if that makes a difference.
 

Ogion

Paladin of Patience
Local time
Today, 05:04
Joined
Jun 23, 2008
Messages
2,310
Location
Germany
#17
Well, there are some size-limitations...In jpg the image may be bigger, so maybe a conversion of your image to that would help. (I think the size-limitations stand somewhere along the process of setting up your signature.)

Ogion
 

Jesin

Prolific Member
Local time
Yesterday, 23:04
Joined
May 2, 2008
Messages
2,036
#18
Alternately I'm good at squishing PNGs. :p

I usually

optipng -fix -i0 -o7 -zm5-9 filename.png
advdef -z4 filename.png
advpng -z4 filename.png

in that order, varying it some on a per-case basis.

(You'll have to install OptiPNG and AdvanceCOMP, which you can find in some Linux repositories (including Ubuntu's), and also on sourceforge. Yes, it runs on Windows too (see sourceforge.))

If that doesn't work enough, try converting to jpg.
 

fullerene

Prolific Member
Local time
Yesterday, 23:04
Joined
Jul 16, 2008
Messages
2,158
#19
you realize if he's not on linux, that code is going to be complete jibberish? ok. cool :)
 
Top Bottom