• OK, it's on.
  • Please note that many, many Email Addresses used for spam, are not accepted at registration. Select a respectable Free email.
  • Done now. Domine miserere nobis.

Funny Work Stories

Cognisant

Prolific Member
Local time
Today, 07:30
Today I sorta shit talked something my boss asked me to do, within his earshot, to a colleague of mine and I regret doing it but that's not the funny story.

I work in IT and my boss asked me to get a quote on five-to-six logitech webcams and five-to-six logitech webcams on stalks with microphones (boss speak for a conference phone) and get an estimate on how long it will take them to arrive. Now in public service IT we don't just go out and buy shit we have to go through approved suppliers, this makes a lot more sense when you're buying shit in bulk and you want more-or-less direct from manufacturer prices, big departments have big buying power and can demand hefty discounts but I digress.

How this works is that I send an email to the supplier and they acting like a concierge go out and look for the manufacturer of the thing I'm asking about and get a quote which goes through the supplier back to me and back to my boss for approval from his boss. Now my boss won't be specific or rather he wants specifically wants five-to-six of each item and he's that special kind of asshole who if I give him a quote for six will ask me what the price is for five, but to be fair on expensive items it can make a difference.